Striking Beauty

I sailed in.
The sun warmed the nape of my neck
and lit the sea and sky
that blended into a background
of high steep cliffs on three sides

closer to the shore
double strings of fish
strung by their gill
and a flotilla of pleasure boats
accompanied by leaping dolphins
added to the colorful landscape

looking up,
I saw the tip top ridge,
the sparkling white snow-like houses
preserved streets, squares and walls
entombed in the solidified ash,
the apex of volcanic memory
even stone staircases still intact

Later, I gazed at a starless daytime sky
and marveled at the unique ‘scape’, the sea
Santorini rippling down my spine
here in this place of promise

And for now – it is all mine

— genece hamby
http://www.shibuistudio.com

~ by Genece Hamby on May 18, 2008.

3 Responses to “Striking Beauty”

  1. Oh, I love the light in this! And the orange & blue together – I guess inspired by your time in the southwest? Lovely, Georgia, I mean Genece….

  2. Another stunner.

  3. Wow – I love the poetry that goes with this painting – and the joy in “for now, all this is mine”! – and with the painting & the poem, you can visit whenever you like!

Leave a Reply

 
