Higher Altitudes

Higher Altitudes

folding one color
into higher altitudes
the paint smears richness

I started this painting with smearing colors on a blank canvas in Corel Painter X. As I added another color, I saved the file and re-opened it in Adobe Photoshop to work with the Liquify Filter in order to shape color into mountains, a lake and waterfall. I’d save again and re-open in Corel Painter X. That’s when I began adding details and texture using various brushes (oil pastel, pastel, diffuser, watercolor, to name a few). Once it was where I wanted it, I saved and re-opened in Photoshop to add the Artist Filter of Watercolor. This gave it a deeper, richer appearance.

Closing the file from Photoshop, I opened in Corel PhotoPaint to finish with my dots and the addition of light on the mountain, on the waterfall and in the lake. It wasn’t quite right — so, I played with the Histogram Equalization to get the final result I was after in this painting.

~ by Genece Hamby on February 6, 2008.

7 Responses to “Higher Altitudes”

  1. This was exactly what I was trying to do, Genece, paint on a black background. I did, a few minutes ago, manage to get the effect I wanted, though I’m sure not by the correct means. I used the eraser tool and erased holes in my canvas and filled in with the colors I needed. It worked, but I’m sure my method was way out in left field.

    Your painting, by the way, is absolutely gorgeous.

    Vi

  2. This is wonderful, Genece. I love the way you use the different aspects of the different programs.

  3. I just love your work!

  4. The painting is gorgeous. I love the blends, and the details work perfectly.

  5. Very beautiful! I work mainly in Photoshop now and really appreciate the digital painting of other artists. I really love the light effects you achieved.

  6. How absolutely lovely!! I must remember to show your work to our art teacher at school as I know she will just love it.

  7. Genece: this might be a silly question but the back and forth between Corel and PhotoShop: would you prefer that one or the other program could do everything you want, instead of using each for specific effects Or is it not that big of a deal, except maybe from a time perspective? Just curious.

    The results are beautiful, BTW.

Leave a Reply

 
