Stand Tall

Stand Tall

stand tall in color
quietly, the painting spoke
four bottles listened

It seems I’ve hardly painted since the holidays, especially over the past few weeks. My days have been hectic and evenings have just been playing catch up with other things that’s a part of daily life. If I’m going to meet the deadline for having the book complete and ready, guess it’s time to get back on track with the Still Life Collection. The goal is 25-35 paintings for the book. I’m at 10.

Today’s painting was stretching outside of fruit and veggies. It fits with a couple of others I’ve done in the collection that are either bottles or bowls. Not sure why I choose these kind of objects — something speaks to me and my creative muse takes over. I started this painting by first taking a digital photograph (got a digital camera for Christmas) then uploading the image and outlining it. After outlining it in Photoshop, I opened it in Corel Painter X and painted it using shades of red violet, purple and green.

~ by Genece Hamby on January 6, 2008.

7 Responses to “Stand Tall”

  1. Love your bottle collection. The colors are great. Do you go out hunting for old bottles or do you buy them?

  2. I like the colors, too, but what really strikes me is that it is completely realistic —- and yet it’s not. 🙂

  3. If I didn’t know it was a painting, I’d swear it was a photograph and you photoshopped your dots into it!

    How big is the actual painting?

  4. Beautiful. I especially love the colors. The melty, swirly look is great, too.

  5. This painting is taken from a digital image of old bottles my stepfather had in the shed. I took the photo and outlined the bottles. Then painted the outline.

  6. I too have a small collection of bottles ,some were dug up when I put on a new kitchen in 1991 on the back of the Port Melbourne house were Pris and I and John were born …..

    Genence they are only tiny ones…..but date back to 1928…

    If you would like one just give me a yell and I will post it over…

    They are not coloured but clear glass but very old in shape and the sandy beach soil has marked them in a frosty look that cannot be erased…..

    I love bottles …in Port Melbourne we have an Historical and Preservation society that collects these bottles from when old homes are mowed down for terrible apartments …..
    There is a chap who has the biggest collection in Voctoria of salvaged bottles,jugs buckles etc from around Melbourne that he shows in the evenings to groups…..they are just wonderful and in lots of colours and materials from glass to pottery to ivory to metal……..
    Pris be a good girl please….!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Love Dru Monday 7.1.2008

  7. You set high standards Genece. These purple bottles make a very attractive still life.

Leave a Reply

 
