Decadent Hot Chocolate

hotchocolate.jpg

I’ve had a lot of requests for the hot chocolate I make in winter. There are two kinds I make, depending upon how much of a hurry I am.

1.

6 ounces 70% Cacao Bittersweet or 62% Cacao Semisweet Chocolate (Ghiradelli’s works really well 😉
1 quart milk-from nonfat to half & half (your preference)
Break-up chocolate and place in a small, heavy saucepan. Melt with one cup of the milk over med-low heat while stirring constantly. When the chocolate has melted, bring up the heat to medium and add the remainder of the milk while whisking rapidly.Do not allow to boil.Serve in small cups with a dollop of whipped cream or fortify with flavored syrups (I use raspberry sugar free and it’s delicious) or Cognac, Rum, Irish Whiskey, or Brandy.  You can add a dash of unsweetened cocoa on top (I keep cocoa in a shaker so I can dust it over the top with ease).hotchocolatestirparis.jpg2.

2 teaspoons cornstarch
1 1/2 cups whole milk
1/2 cup water
10 oz fine-quality bittersweet chocolate (not unsweetened), finely chopped
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder (optional)
2 tablespoons brandy (optional), or flavored syrup of your choice (I still prefer rasberry sugar free with this recipe)
Whisk together cornstarch and 2 tablespoons milk.Bring water to a boil in a 2-quart heavy saucepan, then reduce heat to moderately low and add chopped chocolate and a pinch of salt, whisking until smooth.Add cream and remaining milk (1 1/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons) and increase heat to moderate, then cook, whisking occasionally, until mixture is smooth and heated through. Taste; for a deeper chocolate flavor, whisk in cocoa.Whisk cornstarch mixture, then add half to chocolate mixture and simmer, whisking, until slightly thickened, about 2 minutes. Add brandy (if using) ot flavored syrup and remaining cornstarch mixture to thicken if desired, then simmer, whisking, 1 minute. Top with whipped cream!

 Enjoy both! Happy Holidays! These are excellent replacements for Eggnog.

~ by Genece Hamby on December 23, 2007.

8 Responses to “Decadent Hot Chocolate”

  1. Swooooon!!!!! This IS decadent. Genece, if you would like to put this in the Arte Culinaria, let me know and I’ll sign you in.

  2. I agree with Lori, what time should we be at your house, Genece? I’ll bring the brandy…

  3. Oooh, I’m salivating all over my keyboard.

    Vi

  4. Okay, everyone’s invited! We’ll drink hot chocolate with brandy (do they make raspberry brandy?), share stories of Christmas and make lots of merry as we drink our cheer!

  5. Genece,
    Is my Sister drinking this brew you make up ?

    If so the next trip she embarks on will need to have a sticker on the parcel/cardboard box/case/big steel shipping container
    ” Excess Baggage” “Handle with care”

    Just give her an egg-cup full Genece chocolate for her ,like her sister is a big downfall….Love Druscilla in downtown
    Port Melbourne, Victoria Australia. 24/12/07

  6. Oh. My. Goodness.

    This is deadly good stuff. And I’ll bet they do make a raspberry-flavored brandy. Chambord would work well, too.

  7. Oh. My. Goodness.

    This is deadly good stuff. And I’ll bet they do make a raspberry-flavored brandy. Chambord would work well, too.

  8. […] Decadent Hot Chocolate « Sanctuary of Stillness […]

Leave a Reply

 
