Cold and Windy

It’s cold, windy and I would rather be nesting than working. I don’t feel much like writing, painting or cleaning. However, of the three–cleaning is always an ongoing task as I prepare for my upcoming art show.

Last night I pulled out the acrylics to do some hand embellishments on several canvas pieces showing this weekend. I worked on them for awhile. Then, I couldn’t stop myself–took out a new blank 20×30 canvas, pulled out one of my favorite “fat” brushes and started painting. I mixed greens, golds and blues–allowing the colors to bleed into one another (more like dripping into one another from too much water on the brush). I just played and after about an hour, I stood back to get a good look at my creation (remember, I’m more comfortable with digital painting than traditional painting) and was surprised at the sheer beauty of what I painted. Soft, impressionable and still is the essence. Rich color in the land, deep hues of mossy green trees, against a golden pearl and soft blue sky.

This morning I looked at it again and am afraid to do anything else to it. Can it be completed like this–only a few colors and more abstract than anything I’ve ever done digitally? Maybe! I’ll have to sleep on it again to see how I feel tomororw because today, I wouldn’t add another drop of color.

~ by Genece Hamby on October 17, 2007.

One Response to “Cold and Windy”

  1. Oh, Genece,

    Don’t touch it again except with your eyes and your spirit. It sounds so wonderful. To have something so spontaneous and so fulfilling is a rare message from your own soul.

Leave a Reply

 
