Sitting Still

Today, I am taking a break from Tuscany Vineyard that is a digital painting in progress (see the past four days post to view if it’s your first time visiting). I’ve uploaded a painting recently completed for the art show that is happening this upcoming weekend. Eeeek! So much to do and so little time 😉

I tend to sit in stillness when painting and the lotus flower is my signature flower I use to encourage others to see or find the stillness, beauty and grace in all things. Instead of painting in a typical color, I reversed the color and painting it in shades of black, gray and dark forest green onto a background of soft orange. The single leaf was the most challenging element in the painting because I didn’t like it reversed. I ended up painting it and then using a solarizing filter to give it a soft psychedelic appearance. The colors worked. Finally, I used a watercolor filter to give the digital painting a more layered look as if it were edged with water. Oh yes, I added my infamous dots!

~ by Genece Hamby on October 15, 2007.

4 Responses to “”

  1. Oh my! This is so beautifully unusual. It immediately grabs the eye and draws it in anuntil it comes to rest of the little purple flower. A blossom in an evening gown of black satin. Great imagination.

    Vi

  2. Your lotus flower is really beautiful, Genece, and I like the reversal of color and your infamous dots! I had an artist friend in Roswell, NM, and he was painting a series of large dots. I asked him how long was he going to keep painting dots and he said “Until they tell me I can stop!” Demanding little things, those dots 🙂

  3. I think it is quite extraordinary what you can do Genece. This art form is really something else. Beautiful work.

  4. Gorgeous Genece! I’m finding my way with Adobe PS. I have a vague idea of what I want in my head and the finished product is usually the result of experimenting with all those lovely filters and effects. I still need to work out how to do a tranparent layer so I dont lose my original image to all the “tweaking” I do.

Leave a Reply

 
