Raw Work

Tuscany Vineyard

I thought you might enjoy seeing a digital painting in progress. At this stage, it’s pretty raw! I drew the scene using a stylus pen and Intuos3 tablet. The next step I do is color different areas with broad strokes using a variety of brushes for texture.

 Each day I paint on at least 2 paintings simultaneously–one that is in a raw state like this one and one that is near completion, requiring the detail and finishing touches. This keeps my eyes fresh and my techniques polished. Painting this way keeps me centered and relaxed which is important since I’m always striving for the stillness to come through in the art.

~ by Genece Hamby on October 11, 2007.

8 Responses to “Raw Work”

  1. I am looking forward to seeing how this progresses.

  2. Yes, thank you, Genece, for this insight into your working process and for sharing your techniques. It looks like a very promising start.

  3. This is Beautiful !!!
    Patricia

  4. Genese, thank you, thank you for doing this. Not only is it wonderful to see your work in progress, it is a fantastic lesson for those of us who are trying to learn to do digital art!

  5. it is fascinating watching this work in progress. Pity you are so far away – I would love to watch you at work

  6. What a gift you are sharing with us. I’ll be most intrigued to watch this develop. I’m also most intrigued to read of your creative practice. I always have several projects (usually writing) on the go at once. Each seems to feed the other.
    Thank you.

  7. Working on two pieces at once, at such different stages is a brilliant idea. Must keep you in perfect flow!

  8. Oh, Genese, you are stimulating my desire to jump in with both feet and try this myself. I’m looking forward to seeing the progression.

Leave a Reply

 
