Changing Seas

Deep Sea

This is the final step of the sea at sunset. Yesterday, I added layers of color and blended them to create clouds over the two basic colors I started with in step one. Today, I complete the painting by creating a seaside of pinks, purples, deep blues and white. For details, I added boulders, a shoreline, and light of the sun. The colors in the painting were blended for completion.

 Now, here’s the fun of digital painting. After finishing this piece of art, I played with some of the filters and color/image adjustments. When desaturating the color while playing around, the painting became a cool blue green sea wtih blue sky. A few finishing touches of color blending and additional brush strokes, this is the changing sea (all with the stroke of a brush and the click of a mouse). Same painting, different look thanks to technology:

BlueGreen Sea

~ by Genece Hamby on August 23, 2007.

3 Responses to “Changing Seas”

  1. these paintings are gorgeous. I really must try and find the time to get to grips with Photoshop ….

  2. Inspiring, I am glad to find someone who uses a Mac! Your colours and the poem are very beautiful. Fran

  3. Fascinating, Genece, thanks for the tutorial. I don’t have Photoshop, but I might just put it on my wish list. Looks like such fun–and your results are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

 
